Exhibit Award Winners Announced for 2024 National Money Show

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) presented 23 competitive exhibit awards at the 2024 Colorado Springs National Money Show®. Winners were announced at the Exhibit Awards Presentation & Reception on Saturday, March 16. 

Eddie Swanson received the Steven D’Ipollito Award for Excellence in Numismatic Exhibiting (best of show) for his exhibit, “Presidents of the Progressive Era (1897-1920).” The second place D’Ipollito Award was presented to Michael T. Shutterly for “Heavenly Gold.” Third place was also awarded to Shutterly for his exhibit “In the Beginning … When Man Created Coins.”

The Radford Stearns Memorial Award for People’s Choice, determined by votes from convention attendees, was presented to Steve Shupe for “Trimes: Three-Cent Silver 1851-1873.”

The theme for National Coin Week this year is “A Hobby for a Changing World – 100 Years and Counting.” National Coin Week exhibits are intended to be suitable for display in libraries and schools, so there is a $250 limit on the value of the materials in this competition. The National Coin Week Award was presented to Judy Dobbins for “Texas Numismatic Association Show Medals.” She will receive a full scholarship to a future ANA Summer Seminar, an award endowed by John Albanese. Second place in this category was awarded to Jeffrey Rosinia for “The Colorado Springs Centennial Medal.” Third place was earned by Richard Jozefiak for “Token for an Ice Worm Cocktail in Alaska.” 

Radford Stearns Memorial Awards for Achievement in Exhibiting were also presented in six classes. This year, 25 competitive exhibits were displayed in the collector exhibits area by 17 exhibitors. Class winners are as follows: 

Class 1: History and Politics (historical or political events)

  • First place: Eddie Swanson, “Presidents of the Progressive Era (1897-1920).”
  • Second place: Steve Shupe, “Trimes: Three-Cent Silver 1851-1873.”
  • Third place: Simcha Laib Kuritzky, “Henrietta Szold and Her Legacy: Hadassah and Youth Aliyah.”

Class 2: Economics (monetary and financial systems or economic events, such as panics and inflations)

  • First place: Michael T. Shutterly, “In the Beginning … When Man Created Coins.”
  • Second place: Richard Jozefiak, “Token for an Ice Worm Cocktail in Alaska.”
  • Third place: Jeffrey Rosinia, “Berghoff Waiter Tokens.”

Class 3: Geography (natural or cultural assets, the distribution of populations, or exploration)

  • First place: Simcha Laib Kuritzky, “Feline Species Paper Money Type Set.”
  • Second place: Jeffrey Rosinia, “The Colorado Springs Centennial Medal.”
  • Third place: Judy Dobbins, “Texas Numismatic Association Show Medals.”

Class 4: Common Elements (material linked by common themes and designs, such as Queen Elizabeth II, elephants, bridges, or world’s fairs)

  • First place: Michael T. Shutterly, “Heavenly Gold.”
  • Second place: Karl Kreis, “The Legacy of Henry Kreis.”
  • Third place: Jeffrey Rosinia, “Liberty Centennial Gold.”

Class 5: The Arts (any aspect of fine or applied arts)

  • First place: Barbara Gregory, “Hooray for Hollywood: Numismatic Artifacts from the Golden Age of American Cinema.”
  • Second place: Gary Dobbins, “Honoring Music Through a World of Paper Money.”
  • Third place: Ellen Tate, “Royal Mint Beatrix Potter Commemoratives.”

Class 6: Science (theoretical or applied science, including the technology of manufacturing numismatic items)

  • First place: Michael T. Shutterly, “It’s Elementary!”
  • Second place: Simcha Laib Kuritzky, “A Stellar Type Set.”
  • Third place: Sherman Peterson, “A Century of Modern Small-Size United States Currency.”

 In addition to the D’Ippolito and Stearns medals that winning exhibits receive, there are the following numismatic prizes:

  • Class Awards: First place, 1/10 ounce American Eagle; second place, proof American Silver Eagle; third place, bullion American Silver Eagle.
  • National Coin Week Awards: First place, Summer Seminar scholarship; second place, Proof American Silver Eagle; third, bullion American Silver Eagle.
  • Best-of-Show Awards: First place, 1/2 ounce American Eagle; second place, 1/4 ounce American Eagle; third place, 1/10 ounce American Eagle.

The application deadline for exhibiting at the 2024 ANA World’s Fair of Money®, which will be held August 6-10 in Chicago (Rosemont), Ill., is June 14. For an application form or more information, phone (719) 482-9849; email exhibits@money.org; or visit money.org/convention-exhibits.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs, to include its museum, library, publications, conventions and webinars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or visit money.org.

The National Money Show is held annually by the American Numismatic Association.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.