Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee Meeting Set for June 14th

The Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee, or CCAC, is slated to hold its next meeting next week. The meeting will be on Tuesday, June 14, 2022 starting at 8:30 AM Eastern at the United States Mint offices. There will be no access to the meeting for the public or press due to COVID-19 restrictions but interested parties are able to dial into the meeting in listen-only mode. The meeting is expected to last until 3:30 PM Eastern.

The agenda for this Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee is busy with four primary items on the itinerary:

  • Review and discuss candidate designs for the 2024 Native American $1 coin.
  • Review and discuss candidate designs for the 2024 American Innovation $1 coins honoring innovations in Illinois and Alabama.
  • Review and discuss candidate designs for the Congressional Gold Medals awarded to the United States Capitol Police and those who protected the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021.
  • Discuss recommendations for the CCAC 2022 Annual Report.

For those who wish to dial in and listen to the meeting, you can do so by calling (888) 330-1716 and using access code 1137147. Members of the press and public who do call in to listen to the meeting must remain in listen-only mode and mute their phones so as not to disturb the meeting.

If you need an accommodation to listen to the CCAC meeting, please contact the Diversity Management and Civil Rights Office by June 9 at 202-354-7260 or 1-888-646-8369 (TYY)

For further information on the meeting, Jennifer Warren, United States Mint Liaison to the CCAC; 801 9th Street, NW; Washington, DC 20220; or call 202-354-7208.

About the CCAC

In accordance with 31 U.S.C. 5135, the CCAC:

  1. Advises the Secretary of the Treasury on any theme or design proposals relating to circulating coinage, bullion coinage, Congressional Gold Medals, and national and other medals.
  2. Advises the Secretary of the Treasury with regards to the events, persons, or places to be commemorated by the issuance of commemorative coins in each of the five calendar years succeeding the year in which a commemorative coin designation is made.
  3. Makes recommendations with respect to the mintage level for any commemorative coin recommended.

The CCAC was established in 2003 by Congress under Public Law 108-15.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: